# Roles and Permissions

> Source: https://docs.synthesized.io/tdk/latest/user_guide/050_deployment_operations/administration/roles_and_permissions
> For the complete documentation index, see [llms.txt](https://docs.synthesized.io/llms.txt).

User permissions are a predefined list of application resources and actions that can be accessed and executed if that permission is granted to the user.

## Global Roles

A global role defines a user’s baseline permissions across the entire organization.

 
| Role | Description |
| --- | --- |
| 
**Member**

 | 

Normal organization member with no implicit access. Permissions are determined by project membership.

 |
| 

**Admin**

 | 

Full access everywhere, including user management, license, and vault settings.

 |
| 

**Owner**

 | 

Admin permissions plus the ability to transfer ownership.

 |

## Project Roles

Project roles define a user’s permissions within a specific project. Users are assigned a project role when they are added to a project.

See [Projects](https://docs.synthesized.io/tdk/latest/user_guide/010_get_started/projects) for details on project role permissions.

## Global Roles & Permissions Matrix

The table below defines what permissions are assigned with each global role.

    
| Group | Permissions | Member | Admin | Owner |
| --- | --- | --- | --- | --- |
| 
Workflow actions

 | 

Read workflows

 | 

X

 | 

X

 | 

X

 |
| 

Run workflows

 | 

X

 | 

X

 | 

X

 |
| 

Create, modify and delete workflows

 | 

X

 | 

X

 | 

X

 |
| 

See and modify private workflows

 |  | 

X

 | 

X

 |
| 

Data sources

 | 

Read data source connection details

 | 

X

 | 

X

 | 

X

 |
| 

Create, modify and delete data source connection details

 | 

X

 | 

X

 | 

X

 |
| 

See and modify private data sources

 |  | 

X

 | 

X

 |
| 

User Administration

 | 

Activate / deactivate users

 |  | 

X

 | 

X

 |
| 

Change user’s role

 |  | 

X

 | 

X

 |
